• 1988-89 Boys Basketball Team

    The 1988-89 Boys Basketball Team, led by Coach Dean Schott put together one of the greatest seasons in Section V history.  Many high scoring, lop-sided games were a theme throughout the season.  Opening the season with a rout against state ranked West Hill in the Lyons Cage Tourney was a glimpse of things to come.

    With a mild losing streak against Clyde entering the season, the Lions beat Clyde at home in front of standing room only crowd 98-78.   While capturing the Midlakes Christmas Tournament with ease, the Lyons won 19 in a row with virtually no close games until the season finale at Clyde.  The host Eagles defeated the Lions 71-68 for the team’s only blemish of the season. The team meeting in the gym immediately after the Clyde loss and the disappointment of not going undefeated made the team even hungrier to meet their goals of winning the Sectionals, State and Federation titles. 


    After cruising to the school’s first Section V title since 1982, and winning the state qualifier game against Kendall, the Lions met Buffalo Burgard in the Western Regional Final. Buffalo Burgard, ranked #1 in the state and led by Marcus Whitfield, the nation's leading scorer at 44 ppg were no match for Lyons.  Spearheaded by Dean Schott’s three-quarter court shot at the halftime buzzer, the Lions ran Burgard off the court in the second half for a convincing 98-82 victory. 

    After beating Spa Catholic in the State Semifinals, Lyons faced Whitney Point for the state title.  After trailing by double digits in the fourth quarter, Lyons, led by point guard Junior Kemp’s tremendous play down the stretch, won the state championship in dramatic fashion.  The Lyons traveled back to Glens Falls the following week and capped off a storybook season with a 77-70 victory over Nichols Academy for the Federation Championship.  Lyons remains just one of a few teams from upstate to capture a Federation title.


    Rich Vanderlinde, Dean Schott and Junior Kemp all made first team all-league with Joe Bell garnering second team honors.  Coach Schott was honored as Coach of the Year by numerous basketball organizations following the “Dream Season”.