• 1977 Lyons Varsity Football Team


    HOF Class of 2010



    In 1977 Lyons High School fielded an undefeated championship football team. The Lions were league champs as well as Section V Champions. However, this championship did not come easy.


    The Lions toughest opponent came the first game of the season. In the opener the Lions came from behind to defeat the Red Jacket Indians 7-6 on an Ed Mitchell TD and a Bob Hauf extra point. The team also won their non-league game against a heralded Waterloo squad picked to win their conference title. It was the first non-league win for the Lions in a number of years. Probably the most exciting win for the Lions that season was against DeSales. The wind was exceptionally strong the night of the game, but the Lions’ ground game proved very successful, dominating time of possession in the quarters going into the wind. Beating the Wharf Rats was a major accomplishment for the Lions, as DeSales finished with a 7-1 record and placed 2nd in the league.


    The 1977 Lyons Football Team set a school record for the longest winning streak at 16 straight wins! With their 9-0 record, the Lions were ranked 8th in the state and awarded the Section V Class B Title. The’77 team also placed many players on the All-Conference Team, including 1000 yard rusher Jeff Leonard.