• Cross Country Team

    HOF Class of  2017



    The 1995 Lyons Cross Country Team excelled both in athletic competition and in the classroom.  The team posted a school record of 32 wins in the very competitive Wayne-Finger Lakes League.  The league included traditional Wayne County schools, plus all the Finger Lakes schools, such as Canandaigua, Newark, Victor, and Geneva.  As one of the smallest schools in the league, the team’s record is even more impressive.


    The team won the West Division Championship, the second of four consecutive division championships from 1994-1997.  All-League performers included Mike Irwin and Mike Atkinson. The team scored victories over powerhouse programs from Victor and Newark, signaling Lyons’ arrival as a very strong program in a very strong league.


    The Sectional victory was the first of its kind for cross country.  The team was led by individual sectional shield winner Mike Irwin, who finished second overall.  As a result of its performance, finishing second out of 42 teams, the team also qualified for the State Meet for the only time in program history.


    In addition to the victories on the field of competition, the team earned Scholar-Athlete recognition in one of the top scholastic performances for Section V.  The team had a Scholar-Athlete cumulative average of 93.53, sixth-highest in Section V, regardless of school classification.


    Division Champions.  Sectional Champions.  State Meet Representative.  Scholar-Athlete Team. The 1995 Cross Country Team was exceptional by any standard, athletic or academic, and has rightly earned inclusion into the Lyons Athletic Hall of Fame.




    Team Members: Mike Atkinson, Hillary Cardin, Brian Carnevale, Brett Crandall, Jeremiah DeWolf, Joe Hoyt, Mike Irwin, Wesley Johnson, Jason McIntyre, Justin Paliotti, Matt Rohrer, John Morrissey-Coach